Concertinas of Consortiums

So, I live out in the middle of nowhere. I know that I say I live near Austin, but that’s because that’s just way easier to say. But my tiny library has ebook borrowing, so I figured I’d post about it.

I had seen a sign in the library about it, and the Highsong series is out there, so I figured, what the heck. I asked the librarian while I was checking out: “So, if theoretically someone wrote an ebook, how would you get that ebook?”

Answer: the library has what’s called a consortium, a collection of ebooks that are accessible by about 80 libraries in the Central Texas area. That’s a lot of people reading my ebook.

So then she asked the title, and I said, “Highsong.”

“And who’s the author?”

I honestly didn’t know what to say to that. I know we’re supposed to be all gung-ho about marketing a book, but I couldn’t bring myself to admit it.

I needn’t have bothered. “Oh, you’re the author! Oh! We’ll get our head librarian to read it and then if she likes it she’ll put it into the consortium. What’s the genre?”

“YA science fiction.”

“She’s always looking for YA.”

So there you go. Another tip for you to try. Because believe me, if my middle-of-nowhere podunk library has access to an ebook consortium, odds are yours will, too.

About coyoteclockwork

I am 29 and living on the outskirts of the North Austin, TX area. I'm an illustrator and a writer of YA fantasy. I'm also an avid video gamer and have a lot of background in good-old tabletop RPG, when I'm not editing manuscripts for myself or part of my writing group at the Austin SCBWI.
This entry was posted in ebook, Efforts, Marketing, novel, science fiction, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

