Elegy of Effort

So, the first things I’ve done so far are make a Facebook page for Highsong.  Seemed like the right place to start.  I added the “Like” box to this blog by connecting it to Facebook, which was a nice touch.  Everything is very accessible (WordPress and Facebook and Twitter work together like the Triforce)
So, tips for making a Facebook page for your book are as follows:

1. You need your pitch line. A single sentence that sums up your story.  That’s right.  You get one.  If you haven’t read a new book lately, you can usually find a pitch line for a novel on the copyright page.  Post your pitch line in the “About” line or the “Description” one.  I chose to fill out both.
2.  Your 3-5 sentence book blurb. This is the thing that would be on your inside book flap or on the back, if your book were paper.  Even though this is an ebook, I still maintain that you should have a concise summary and pitch line, because the Internet is the place for short attention spans.  If you can’t be concise, you need to rewrite more.]
I want to start a Twitter account, but I need to read up on it more.  Namely how to make compelling posts.    Then I’ll probably look into something over at GoodReads, to see about drumming up some interest there.

I emailed two Ecco the Dolphin fansites about becoming affiliates, because I think that anyone who follows the fansites would probably be interested in a story about a psychic dolphin who fights aliens.  That’d be another tip:

3. Find affiliated markets and don’t be afraid to approach them! That reminds me, I probably need to post on a Facebook Ecco page …

About coyoteclockwork

I am 29 and living on the outskirts of the North Austin, TX area. I'm an illustrator and a writer of YA fantasy. I'm also an avid video gamer and have a lot of background in good-old tabletop RPG, when I'm not editing manuscripts for myself or part of my writing group at the Austin SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Affiliates, Efforts, Marketing, Networking, Tips, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

