Canticle of Lists

1. Place an ad online. I initially thought to do this on Facebook and the cheap $1 ads that often appear on webcomic hosters, but some further research suggested that I search out quality targeted ezines and purchase solo or top sponser ad spots.  I may well, but even if I don’t, it’s still a viable option for those who are looking to market their own project.
2. Make a page for the three major tiers of social media. That is, a blog, Facebook, and Twitter.  My Facebook page is near completion; next I will turn my attention to a Twitter account.  I need to do more reading, but apparently Twitter is equal give and take: the best way to get traffic for yourself is to follow other people.  Remember the affiliation rule: I’m writing about science fiction and dolphins, so I should probably look into following the Tweets of a marine trainer or sci-fi writers.
3. Post in your own Internet hubs. Everyone who spends time on the Internet has Internet presence.  A place where you hang out, are known, or communicate.  Hopefully you have someone online who knows you.  I spend way too much time on the art site DeviantArt, and on TvTropes.  Therefore, I will be posting on the DA forums and making a page for Highsong on TvTropes.  I’ve got no better place to start than the places I already hang out at.
4. Look into real word of mouth. People you know in real life should be able to help you get the word out.  A friend with another blog can feature you on theirs and so on.  You’d be surprised on how quickly the ideas start coming once you start looking for them in marketing terms.
5. Make a list. Yeah, this isn’t everything I have so far.  Most of it falls under the other four subject umbrellas I already mentioned.  But lists are tried and true methods for brainstorming.  Also note: none of these methods involve spamming or bots.  The Internet may be anonymous, but people will thank you for not annoying the hell out of them and presenting an honest effort.  Trust me.

Let’s go retro with the original Trellia’s Bay from Ecco 2: Tides of Time.

About coyoteclockwork

I am 29 and living on the outskirts of the North Austin, TX area. I'm an illustrator and a writer of YA fantasy. I'm also an avid video gamer and have a lot of background in good-old tabletop RPG, when I'm not editing manuscripts for myself or part of my writing group at the Austin SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Efforts, Marketing, Networking, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

