Song of Beginning

So, a few days ago, I was talking to my brother, lamenting my latest novel rejection and ribbing him about getting his critique of a novelette called Highsong back to me.  Highsong, a sci-fi novelette featuring psychic dolphins, had been rejected by “Orson Scott Card’s Medicine Show” not long after landing a mere Honorable Mention in the L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future contest.  The story had taken a year to write, and was pretty much dead.  Or dying.  The critique received from my brother would not find a new market for the thing, and I wasn’t going to do rewrites on a story that had no future.

Then my brother said, “Why don’t you publish an ebook?  I read this article about this lady who wrote a bunch of vampire ebooks and made a lot of money.”

My initial reaction was to scoff, because I hate self-publishing.  Especially vanity presses.  Self-publishing was the realm of undisciplined egoists, who had never known a word of critique in their life.  The realm of people who had never worked to earn literary genius but still wanted their awful prose to be lauded as such.

But a week before, a fellow artist and friend had gifted me with a mock cover for Highsong, done by way of lithography.  (The image of which will be the ebook’s cover and is the banner of this blog.)  I had a kickass cover.  Ebook publishing was free if you felt like doing it yourself.

And I knew nothing about marketing a book.  With numerous queries and at least one full manuscript being considered by an agent.

And so, The Highsong Project was launched.  I blog not for hopes of money and fame (although that would be nice), but to navigate the dark and unknown waters of marketing a book.  I hope other people will join me on the journey, and learn something as I sing.  Here’s some music from the video game series Ecco the Dolphin (specifically Tides of Time), whose series directly inspired Highsong.

About coyoteclockwork

I am 29 and living on the outskirts of the North Austin, TX area. I'm an illustrator and a writer of YA fantasy. I'm also an avid video gamer and have a lot of background in good-old tabletop RPG, when I'm not editing manuscripts for myself or part of my writing group at the Austin SCBWI.
This entry was posted in Affiliates, Efforts, Marketing, Networking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

